Skip to content
Help Center

Understanding Account Deactivation versus Data Deletion

Understanding the difference between deactivating your GoFundMe account and permanently deleting your data is key to managing your presence on the platform.

Before moving forward with either action, please review the information below and consider any unclaimed funds or future access needs.

Account Deactivation

If you deactivate your account:

If you’d like to deactivate your GoFundMe account, please follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your account
  2. Navigate to the menu in the top-right corner of your account
  3. Select "Account settings"
  4. Scroll to the bottom and click "Deactivate account"
  5. Confirm by selecting "Deactivate my account"

If you decide to come back to GoFundMe after you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate your account at any time by visiting our Help Center and selecting “Contact us.” A member of our Support Team will be able to assist you.

Account Deletion

If you would like to close your account and permanently delete your data:

If you’d like to permanently delete your data, you can submit a data request here to have your account and applicable associated data removed from GoFundMe and our third-party systems. 

Important: This action is irreversible, and any unclaimed funds may be lost.

Make sure transfers for any remaining funds have initiated before submitting a deletion request. Review this article to learn how to set up transfers.

Please visit our Privacy Choices page to learn more.